I got really sick last night and had trouble sleeping. Because I am not used to having pain during the night, I was convinced I was going to die.  (Just a little convinced.)

I woke up with a lot of pain, and my brother called the doctor. That was at 8:00. I went in to see a doctor and had an exam and some tests, and by 10:00 AM I knew what was wrong and I knew how to treat it, so I went home and went to sleep.

I have a friend who has cancer but no insurance. He also has pain all in his arm and his shoulder, and he doesn’t know if it is because of the cancer or not. He doesn’t have any medicine for the cancer or for the pain because he has no insurance and no money and no energy to even finish applying for social security. No one is helping him get those things.

The people who don’t want national health care say that it is because they don’t want to have a government program. But the doctor I saw today is an army doctor, and the army paid for my visit. I would much rather have the army tell me which doctor to see, but still know what is wrong and be able to get the medicine. That is much better than not knowing and being in pain and dying of cancer.

Freckles