responsibility4-6-07.jpg
When I was in middle school, I got into trouble once in a while, and at detention we always had to fill out the same paper. The very first question was “Who is responsible for your behavior?” and the answer was always “I am.” Then it got into writing about what happened, how we could have handled it differently, and how it might be better handled in the future.

I would like to round up large numbers of politicians and government officials and send them to detention. Alberto Gonzales says “mistakes were made” but never answers question one. His assistant Monica Goodling won’t even answer a single question. Bush and Cheney are famous for never admitting mistakes, never apologizing, and never taking responsibility for their own behavior. John McCain “regrets” his remarks while he was in Iraq, but takes no responsibility for lying or misleading. This type of attitude would never get him released from detention: “Of course I am going to misspeak and I’ve done it on numerous occasions and I probably will do it in the future,” said McCain, according to “60 Minutes.” LINK

Newt Gingrich just “clarified” his choice of words but did not apoligize for offending Spanish speakers. If I wrote an explanation like this, I’d still be in detention days later!

“I made some comments that I recognize caused a bad feeling within the Latino community. My word choice was poor but my point was simply this: In the United States it is important to speak the English language well in order to advance and have success,” he said.

Senator Orrin Hatch lied three times in the same sentence on television the other day, and then avoided Rachel Maddow’s questions about it. After she publicized an open letter to him, he sent a letter to NBC saying that he “misspoke” and that he regrets “making the error” but takes no responsibility for lying or for waiting three days to reply to Rachel Maddow.

Mostly these are Republicans, but Democrats can have this problem as well. Hillary Clinton won’t admit that her vote for the Iraq invasion was a mistake.

Dear politicians,

Who is responsible for your behavior?

Sincerely,

Cassie

Also posted at YouThinkLeft

YouThinkLeft logo